Page Style

  • White/Black
  • Standard

Current Style: Standard

May 30, 2017
Halton Hills Public Library. A world within our doors

Main menu

Public Access Computers

The Internet is free at the library.

Both library branches have public access computers that are loaded with popular office and media (video, graphic, audio) software.

Public Desktop Computers

The desktop computers have access to an Internet browser, Open Office word processing and spreadsheets software, and the library catalog. These computers can be used by anyone; library membership is not required.

Computers are available upon a first-come-first-served basis. Computer users sign in using their library card numbers. Guest cards are available for visitors to the community. There is a ½ hour time limit if other library customers are waiting. Printing is available at a cost of $.25 a page. 

Laptop and Chromebook Lending Program

Halton Hills Public Library has laptops and Chromebooks available for use in the library only. To borrow one of these devices, you must be a Halton Hills Public Library member and your library card must be in good standing.

The loan period for a laptop or Chromebook is two hours. Borrowers must present a library card to sign out a device. Only one check out per person is permitted per day.

Each laptop is loaded with a suite of Microsoft Office products. Each Chromebook is loaded with a suite of Google applications. A laptop equipped with screen-reading and magnification software is available upon request for people with print disabilities.

Here’s what you need to know about using public access computers

  • All information, saved or not, is lost when a session ends. Anything saved in My Documents or on the desktop, and your Internet search history is lost at the end of the session.
  • You must agree to the internet access policy to connect to the library's network.  If you successfully connect, you will enter the Halton Hills Public Library's website.
  • Using your library card number to sign up for a computer is for time-keeping purposes only. All users who sign in remain anonymous and any information related to your session is lost when you sign out.